What are the 10 Lutheran commandments ?

The Ten Commandments are a set of moral imperatives, or principles, which are central to the Lutheran religion. They are found in the Old Testament of the Bible, and were given to Moses by God.

The commandments are:

1. I am the LORD thy God. Thou shalt have no oter gods before me.

2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the tird and fourth generation of them that hate me;

3. Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.

4. Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

5. Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

6. Thou shalt not kill.

7. Thou shalt not commit adultery.

8. Thou shalt not steal.

9. Thou shalt not bear false witness aginst thy neighbour.

10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.

The Ten Commandments are an important part of Lutheranism, and are based on the Bible. They outline principles for living a good life, and remind followers of God’s commandments.

lutheran commandements

What is the meaning of the First commandment?

The first commandment is “You shal have no other gods before me.” This means that you should only worship the one true God and not any other idols or false gods. The Bible says that this is the most important commandment because it is the foundation of all the others. The First Commandment forbids worshipping any other gods but the one true God. It also forbids making idols or images of God. This commandment is about keeping our focus on God and not letting anything else take His place in our hearts.

What is the meaning of the second commandment?

The second commandment forbids worship of man-made things that represent false gods. We usually think of “graven images” as idols, but we can make idols of anything we place before Jehovah. We might think of material possessions, entertainment, or even our own abilities as things that can take the place of God in our lives. This Commandment is teaching that nothing should take the place of the personal presence of the Invisible God.

What is the meaning of the Third Commandment?

The Third Lutheran Commandment refers to the commandment in the Bible that says “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.” This means that we should not use the name of God in a way that is not respectful, such as saying it in a way that is not true or using it to curse. We should use the name of God only in a way that is holy and respectful.

What is the meaning of the 4th commandment?

The Fourth Commandment of the Ten Commandments is “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.” This means that we are to remember the Sabbath day and keep it holy. The Sabbath day is the seventh day of the week, and we need to refrain from work on this day. We should spend time worshipping God and resting.

What is the fifth commandment?

The fifh commandment is to honor your father and your mother. This means to respect them, obey them, and take care of them when they are old. The Bible says that this is the first commandment with a promise. This commandment teaches us how to have a good relationship with our parents.

What does the 6th commandment forbid?

The sixth commandment forbids murder and manslaughter. This means that we should not kill other people, even in self-defense. The Bible teaches that life is a gift from God and we should not take it away from others.

What does the 7th commandment mean?

The Seventh Commandment forbids adultery, which is sex between a married person and someone who is not their spouse. Adultery is a serious sin because it destroys the trust and intimacy that are essential to a healthy marriage. It also harms the children who are affected by the breakup of their parents’ marriage. The Seventh Commandment forbids adultery. This means that we should not have sexual relations with someone who is not our spouse. The Bible teaches that marriage is a sacred covenant between a man and woman, and that we should keep our commitments to our spouse.

What does the 8th commandment mean?

The Eighth Commandment forbids theft. This means that we should not take things that belong to other people without their permission. The Bible teaches that we should work hard and be content with what we have, because God will provide for us.

What does the 9th commandment forbid?

The Ninth Commandment forbids lying. This means that we should not deceive other people by telling them things that are not true. The Bible teaches that we should alwas tell the truth, because God is the God of truth.

What does the 10th commandment mean?

The tenth Commandment Lutheran is “you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.” This means that you should not desire to have what your neighbor has, especially something as important as their spouse. This commandment is based on the idea that we should respect our neighbor’s possessions and not want to take them away.

What does covet thy neighbors wife?

The Hebrew word translated “covet” in the Tenth Commandment means “to long for, to desire.” The idea is that we should not be focused on what our neighbor has or what we can get from our neighbor. Rather, we should be content with what we have.

Why do Lutherans have different 10 commandments?

There are a few reasons why Lutherans have different 10 commandments. One reason is that Lutherans follow the Roman Catholic Church in how the Commandments are counted. The Roman Catholic Church counts the first three commandments as one, and the last seven commandments as one. Another reason is that Lutherans interpret some of the commandments differently than other Christian denominations. For example, Lutherans believe that the commandment “You shall not covet” refers to all types of coveting, not just coveting someone’s belongings.

Are there 2 versions of the 10 Commandments?

There are two versions of the Ten Commandments, one in Exodus 20 and the other in Deuteronomy 5. The two differ in more than a dozen instances in the spelling of some terms, added and changed expressions, word order changes, and the insertion of explanations in the Deuteronomic edition.

What is the difference between the Protestant and Catholic Ten Commandments?

Catholics and Protestants have diffeent numbering of the Ten Commandments because they interpret the commandments differently. The Catholic Church interprets the first commandment as prohibiting both false worship and the worship of false gods, while Protestants generally separate the two and make them their first and second commandments.

What are the two greatest commandments of God?

The two greatest commandments of God, as found in the Bible, are to love God with all your heart, soul, and mind, and to love your neighbor as yourself. These commandments sum up the entire law and the prophets, and they are a guide for how to live a life that is pleasing to God.

Photo of author

Paul Hoyer

Paul Hoyer is a PhD student in Historical Studies at the University of Toronto. His research focus is religious history, with an emphasis on religious diversity, interaction, and conflict. In particular, he is interested in the roles of biblical interpretation, canonical criticism, and rhetoric in shaping religious identities and communities. Paul has also published work on the political, sociological, and psychological effects of religions.