How the Quran is divided?

Answered by Tom Adger

The Quran, the holy book of Islam, is divided into chapters called surahs. There are a total of 114 surahs in the Quran, each with a varying number of verses known as ayats. These surahs are not of equal length; they range from just a few verses to several pages long. The shortest surah in the Quran is Al-Kawthar, which consists of only three verses, while the longest surah is Al-Baqara, which contains a total of 286 verses.

The surahs in the Quran are classified into two main categories based on their place of revelation: Meccan and Medinan. The Meccan surahs are those that were revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) during his early years of prophethood in the city of Mecca. These surahs primarily focus on matters of faith, belief in the oneness of God, and the moral and ethical teachings of Islam. The Meccan surahs often contain powerful and poetic language, conveying a message of hope, guidance, and the consequences of disbelief.

On the other hand, the Medinan surahs were revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) after his migration to the city of Medina. These surahs deal with a wide range of subjects, including laws, social issues, governance, and guidance for the Muslim community. The Medinan surahs provide practical guidance for Muslims in various aspects of life, such as family matters, charity, warfare, and interactions with non-Muslims.

The division of the Quran into Meccan and Medinan surahs is significant because it helps in understanding the historical context and the evolution of Islamic teachings. The Meccan surahs were revealed at a time when the Muslim community was facing persecution and opposition in Mecca. They emphasize the spiritual and moral aspects of Islam and provide encouragement to the early Muslims to remain steadfast in their faith. These surahs lay the foundation of Islamic theology and establish the core principles of monotheism, accountability, and the Day of Judgment.

The Medinan surahs, on the other hand, address the specific needs and challenges faced by the growing Muslim community in Medina. They provide guidelines for governance, social interactions, and the establishment of a just society based on Islamic principles. The Medinan surahs also discuss the relationship between Muslims and non-Muslims, the importance of unity, and the ethical conduct required of believers.

It is worth noting that while the Quran is divided into Meccan and Medinan surahs, this classification does not necessarily imply a strict chronological order of revelation. Some surahs may include verses revealed at different times and in different locations. The arrangement of the surahs in the Quran follows a divine order, which is believed to be determined by God Himself.

The Quran is divided into 114 surahs, each consisting of varying numbers of verses. These surahs are classified as Meccan or Medinan based on their place of revelation. The Meccan surahs focus on matters of faith and morality, while the Medinan surahs provide guidance on governance and social issues. The division of the Quran into these categories helps in understanding the historical context and the evolution of Islamic teachings.