Seraphim – The Winged Messengers of Christian and Jewish Tradition

Seraphim are considered to be among the highest-ranking angels in both Christian and Jewish traditions. In the Bible, they are described as having six wings, which cover their face, feet, and are used for flying. This unique and fascinating depiction of angels has captured the imagination of believers and non-believers alike, inspiring countless works of art and literature throughout history. In this article, we will explore the origins and significance of the six-winged Seraphim angels.

The word “seraphim” is derived from the Hebrew word “seraph,” which means “burning ones.” This name reflects their role as celestial beings who are consumed by the divine fire of God’s love and holiness. In the Bible, the Seraphim are mentioned in Isaiah 6:2-6, were they are described as having six wings, two of which cover their faces, two cover their feet, and two are used for flying. This passage also mentions their role in worshiping God, as they cry out, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory!”

Jewish tradition also recognizes the Seraphim as a distinct class of angels, ranking above the cherubim and other celestial beings. In the Book of Enoch, they are described as having “fiery and burning eyes,” and are associated with the divine judgment and purification of the world. The ancient Jewish texts also give names to the seven Seraphim, including Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael, who are believed to have specific roles in divine governance and protection.

In Christian theology, Seraphim are often associated with the concept of “divine love,” as their burning passion for God reflects the intense love and devotion that believers are called to emulate. The six wings are also seen as symbolic of various virtues, such as humility, purity, and diligence. Some Christian mystics have even claimed to have encountered Seraphim in their visions, describing them as awe-inspiring and overwhelmingly beautiful beings who radiate divine love and light.

The six-winged Seraphim angels are a powerful and fascinating symbol of the divine presence and power in both Jewish and Christian traditions. As we contemplate their fiery passion and unceasing worship of God, we are reminded of our own calling to love and serve the Creator with all our hearts, minds, and souls. Whether we encounter them in art, literature, or our own spiritual experiences, the Seraphim continue to inspire and uplift us with their celestial beauty and divine radiance.

Why Do Seraphim Angels Have 6 Wings?

According to the Book of Isaiah in the Old Testament, Seraphim angels have six wings. The purpose of each pair of wings is described in the text. One pair is used for flying, allowing them to move quickly and effortlessly through the heavens. Another pair covers their face, possibly indicating a sense of humility or reverence in the presence of God. The final pair covers their feet, which culd represent a need for protection or a sign of respect for the sacred ground they walk upon. The six wings of the Seraphim angels are thus believed to serve both practical and symbolic purposes.

angel 1686462131

Where In The Bible Does It Say Angels Have 6 Wings?

The Bible does not explicitly state that angels have 6 wings. However, in the book of Isaiah chapter 6, it describes a vision that the prophet Isaiah had of heavenly beings called “Seraphim” who were praising God. These beings are described as having six wings, with two covering their faces, two covering their feet, and two for flying. It is important to note that while the text uses the term “Seraphim”, it does not use the term “angels”. Therefore, it is possible that Seraphim are a separate type of heavenly being from angels.

Who Are The 7 Seraphim?

The 7 Seraphim are a group of angels mentioned in the Bible and various other religious texts. They are considered to be the highest order of angels and are typically depicted as having six wings, two of which cover their faces, two cover their feet, and two are used for flying.

In Jewish tradition, the 7 Seraphim are known by name: Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Jeremiel, Raguel, Zerachiel, and Remiel. These names are also mentioned in various Christian and Islamic texts.

It is believed that Lucifer, who was once included aong the Seraphim, lost his rank and position after he sinned and was cast down to Earth.

The 7 Seraphim are regarded as powerful and holy beings who serve as messengers of God and play important roles in the spiritual realm.

How Many Heads Do Seraphim Have?

According to religious texts and traditions, seraphim are described as having six wings and multiple faces. However, the number of heads that seraphim possess is not explicitly mentioned in these sources. It is only mentioned that they have multiple faces, which can be interpreted as having more than one head. Therefore, it is safe to say that seraphim may have more than one head, but the exact number is not specified.

angel 1686462133


Seraphim angels are one of the highest ranking angels in Jewish tradition, next to the throne of God. They are described as having six wings, with one pair for flying, another pair for covering their face and the third pair for covering their feet. This description is in line with the Book of Isaiah in the Old Testament and is supported by Jewish history. These angels are also knon by their names, including Michael, Gabriel, and Lucifer (before his fall). It is important to note that while angels are often depicted with wings, not all angels have wings, and the number of wings can vary depending on the type of angel. The 6 wings of Seraphim, however, remain an iconic symbol in religious art and literature.

Photo of author

William Armstrong

William Armstrong is a senior editor with, where he writes on a wide variety of topics. He has also worked as a radio reporter and holds a degree from Moody College of Communication. William was born in Denton, TX and currently resides in Austin.