Ole Miss Football Players Bagged Three National Championships

The Ole Miss football program has a rich history, dating back over 125 years. The Rebels have claimed three national championships in their history, with titles in 1959, 1960, and 1962. These championships are a testament to the skill and determination of the Ole Miss football team throughout the years.

In addition to their national championships, the Rebels have also won six Southeastern Conference (SEC) titles, with wins in 1947, 1954, 1955, 1960, 1962, and 1963. The Rebels claimed their lone SEC Western Division title in 2003, showing that the program continues to compete at a high level in the modern era of college football.

The success of the Ole Miss football program can be seen in the individual accomplishments of its players. The Rebels have produced 58 first-team All-Americans and 177 first-team All-SEC selections. These accolades are a testament to the talent and skill of the players who have worn the Ole Miss uniform over the years.

One of the most notable seasons in Ole Miss football history came in 1955, when the Rebels became the first team in school history to win 10 games in a season. This historic achievement was secured with a 14-13 victory over TCU in the Cotton Bowl. The Rebels’ success that season was a testament to the hard work and dedication of the players and coaching staff, and it remains an iconic moment in the program’s history.

While the Ole Miss football program has experienced success on the field, it has also faced challenges over the years. The team has had to navigate chnges in conference alignment and deal with NCAA sanctions stemming from recruiting violations. Despite these obstacles, the Rebels have remained a competitive and respected program in the world of college football.

The Ole Miss football program has a rich history of success, with three national championships and numerous conference titles and individual accolades. The program’s legacy is a testament to the talent and dedication of the players and coaches who have contributed to its success over the years. While the program has faced challenges along the way, its commitment to excellence on and off the field continues to inspire fans and players alike.

When Was The Last Time Ole Miss Football Won A National Championship?

According to historical records, the last time the Ole Miss football program claimed a national championship was in 1962.

ole miss football 1685199737

Who Has The Most National Championships In College Football?

The team that holds the record for the most national championships in college football is Yale. The NCAA recognizes a total of 18 national championships won by the Yale football team, which is the highest number achieved by any college football team in history. The Yale football program has an impressive history, with two of the first three Heisman winners, 100 All-Americans, and 28 Hall of Fame inductees. This record is a testament to the team’s long and successful history in the sport of college football, making Yale a significant and respected presence in the world of college athletics.

Who Won The 1962 National Championship In College Football?

The University of Southern California (USC) was recognized as the 1962 national champion in college football by the NCAA Football Guide. This recognition was based on USC’s ranking as number one in both the AP poll and the UPI poll for that year. Therefore, USC is considered the official champion for the 1962 season in the NCAA Football Guide.

Has Ole Miss Ever Won A 10 Win Season?

Ole Miss has won a 10 win season in the past. The first time the school achieved this feat was in 1955 when the Ole Miss Rebels won 10 games in a single season. This historic season culminated in a 14-13 victory over TCU in the Cotton Bowl. Since then, Ole Miss has accomplished the milestone of 10 win seasons several times, including in 1962, 1969, 1971, 2003, and 2015. Winning 10 games in a season is a significant accomplishment in college football, and Ole Miss has proven to be a strong program over the years.


The Ole Miss football program has a rich history of success, having claimed three national championships and six SEC titles. The program has also produced numerous All-Americans and All-SEC selections, highlighting the talent and skill of the players that have passed through the program. While the last national championship was won in 1962, the program continues to strive for excellence and remains a respected contender in the SEC. Ole Miss football has left a lasting legacy in the sport and will continue to be a source of pride for its fans and alumni.

Photo of author

William Armstrong

William Armstrong is a senior editor with H-O-M-E.org, where he writes on a wide variety of topics. He has also worked as a radio reporter and holds a degree from Moody College of Communication. William was born in Denton, TX and currently resides in Austin.